Subsection 10.—British Columbia

British Columbia has a Lieutenant-Governor and an Executive Council composed of: the Premier and President of the Council; Provincial Secretary and Minister of Health and Welfare; Attorney General; and the Ministers of Lands and Forests, Finance, Agriculture, Mines and Municipal Affairs, Public Works, Railways, Trade and Industry and Fisheries, Labour, and Education. The Legislative Assembly, elected for five years, has 48 members.

Members of the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly receive Sessional Allowances of \$2,000 and \$1,000 for expenses. The Premier receives a salary of \$9,000 and Members of the Executive Council \$7,500 in addition. The Leader of the Opposition has a special allowance of \$2,000 and the Speaker and Deputy Speaker receive allowances of \$1,800 and \$500, respectively.

21.—Lieutenant-Governors of British Columbia, 1871-1949, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-19, and Present Ministry as at Aug. 1, 1949

Note.-See headnote to Table 13, p. 118.

Lieutenant-Governors

Name	Date of Commission		Name		Date of Commission	
CLEMENT F. CORNWALL. HUGH NELSON EDGAR DEWDNEY THOMAS R. MCINNES. SIT HENRI G. JOLY DE LOTBINIÈRE. JAMES DUNSMUIR.	June 2 June 2 Feb. Nov. Nov. 1 June 2 May 1	7, 1876 11, 1881 8, 1887 1, 1892 8, 1897 11, 1900 1, 1906	Sir Frank S. Barnard. Col. Edward G. Prior. Walter C. Nichol. R. Randolff Bruce. J. W. Fordham Johnson. Eric W. Hamber. LtCol. William C. Woodward Col. the Hon. Charles Arthur Banks, C.M.G.	Dec. Dec. Jan. July Apr. Aug.	9, 1919 24, 1920 21, 1926 18, 1931 29, 1936	

Legislatures, 1934-491

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of	
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution	
	18th General Assembly 19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly	5 4 5	Feb. 20, 1934 Oct. 26, 1937 Dec. 4, 1941 Feb. 21, 1946	July 22, 1941 Aug. 31, 1945	

¹ The Ministries from 1934-49 were: 22nd Ministry sworn in Nov. 15, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. T. D. Pattullo; 23rd Ministry, sworn in Dec. 10, 1941, under the leadership of Hon. John Hart; 24th Ministry, sworn in Dec. 29, 1947, under the leadership of Hon. B. I. Johnson, M.B.E.

² Life of Legislature not yet expired.

Twenty-Fourth Ministry

[Party standing at latest General Election, June 15, 1949: 39 Coalition, 7 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 1 Independent and 1 Labour.]

Office	Name		Date of Present Appointment		
Premier and President of the Council Provincial Secretary and Minister of Health	Hon. Byron Ingemar Johnson, M.B.E	Dec.	10050		
and Welfare	Hod, George Sharratt Pearson,	Dec.			
Attorney General	Hon. Gordon Sylvester Wisher, K.C	Dec.			
Minister of Lands and Forests	Hon, Edward Tourtellotte Kenney	Dec.			
Minister of Finance	Hon. Herbert Anscomb	Dec.	29.	1947	
Minister of Agriculture	Hon, HENRY ROBSON BOWMANT.	July	21.	1949	
Minister of Mines and Minister of Municipal			(85)		
Affairs	Hon. RODERICK CHARLES MACDONALD	Dec.	29.	1947	
Minister of Public Works	Hon, ERNEST CRAWFORD CARSON	Dec.			
Minister of Railways, Minister of Trade and					
Industry and Minister of Fisheries	Hon. LESLIE HARVEY EYRES	Dec.	29	1947	
Minister of Labour	Hon. JOHN HENRY CATES				
Minister of Education		-uly	-1,	1010	
Simister of Education	B.A. LL.B.	Dec.	29,	1947	